6 Ikoyi club 1938 road,
P.O. Box 239 Ikoyi, Lagos


info@ikoyiclub1938.org, membershipservices
@ikoyiclub1938.org, gm@ikoyiclub1938.org, ops@ikoyiclub1938.org
(01) 7737457

Come experience our world

Ikoyi Club 1938 is a private member family Club and it occupies an enviable area of approximately 456 acres of land and provides first class facilities for about 10, 000 members. On September 29, 1938, Ikoyi Club 1938 officially came into being through the merger of the European Club and Lagos Golf Club.

Table-tennis section

On behalf of the entire members of the Table Tennis Section of Ikoyi Club 1938, I welcome you to the website of Ikoyi Club 1938.

Bringing out the best in each other!

The Table Tennis Section of Ikoyi Club 1938 came into existence in February, 1983

Before 1994, The Table Tennis Section was under a shed in the site presently housing the Human Resources building, the Table Tennis Section’s project was conceived between 1994 and 1996 but came into fruition between 1996 and 1997, when it was finally completed by the then Chairman of the Section, late Mr. Tunji Ajani. The first Chairman of the Section was Rev. A.A. Efunkoya between February 1983 – 1985.

The new Table Tennis complex was completed in 1997 by Mr. Tunji Ajani the then Chairman of the Section and the building was commissioned by Mr. Akinbayo Adenubi, the then Chairman of Ikoyi Club 1938. In 2005 the Gym building an attachment to the Table Tennis hall was initiated by Alhaji F. Ola Azeez’s Committee and completed in 2007. It was later commissioned by the Committee of Mr. Olawale Onaolapo in 2007. It is important to mention here that the Table Tennis Section is not only regarded as a family Section but the entertainment center, a social hub of Ikoyi Club 1938. The bi-monthly birthday party for members has been a testimony to this statement as members and visitors are always given the best treat on each of the party days sponsored mostly by special donations from celebrants. The Table Tennis Section has 7 (seven) first class Olympic standard Table Tennis playing boards and a well-equipped gymnasium. There is a spectator viewing furnished gallery area with bar and kitchen. There is a lounge area with a complete bar, the Section has new high standard cloakrooms for ladies and gent.



  1. 1983 – 1985 Dr. Rev. A.A. Efunkoya
  2. 1985 – 1986 Mr. O. Balogun
  3. 1986 – 1988 Mr. L.T. Adekunle
  4. 1990 – 1992 Capt. (Rtd.) A. A. Adebiyi
  5. 1992 – 1994 Chief L. Ishola Lemomu
  6. 1994 – 1996 Mr. Gori Ogunyemi
  7. 1996 – 1997 Mr. Tunji Ajani
  8. 1997 – 1999 Mr. E.A. Osinowo
  9. 1999 – 2001 Mr. Kayode Giwa
  10. 2001 – 2003 Dr. Olalekan Sobowale
  11. 2003 – 2005 Mr. Babatunde Adebanjo
  12. 2005 – 2007 Mr. F. Ola Azeez
  13. 2007 – 2009 Mr. Olawale Onaolapo
  14. 2009 – 2011 Mr. John O. Ojo
  15. 2011 – 2013 Mr. Anthony Owolabi
  16. 2013 – 2015 Otunba Olufemi Oduntan
  17. 2015 – 2017 Mr. Adetayo Osuntogun
  18. 2017 – 2019 Mr. Adebayo Afolabi
  19. 2019 – 2021 Chief Olajide Ogunleye
  20. 2021 – 2023 Engr. Olusoji Aladesuru


Few among the facilities available in the Section are;

  1. The Table Tennis playing hall itself, a large hall
  2. 9 nos of Table Tennis playing boards
  3. A Gym hall with facilities (though not spacious enough to accommodate more facilities)
  4. A gallery (upstairs) waiting to be equipped
  5. A modern kitchen (under construction)
  6. The Section, most especially the playing hall is lighted all the time with the availability of Inverter.


The official opening hour of the Section is 3.00pm – 11.00pm

The Gym opens 3.00pm – 9.00pm Monday – Friday. On Saturday 8.00am – 4.00pm, and public holidays 8.00am – 6.00pm.

Playing times: 3.00pm until members (players) are satisfied/exhausted for the day

Meet our executives

  • Mr. Dare Olude Chairman Table tennis
  • Mr Johnson Akingbade Entertainment Officer
  • Mr. Christopher Ehiogie Treasurer
  • Mr. Yomi Benson Captain
  • Mr. Uadiale Edeoghon Vice Captain
  • Mr. Olayinka Odewole Entertainment Secretary
  • Mr. Buhari Aliyu Secretary
  • Mrs. Yewande Banjoko Lady Representative
  • Mr. Kola Okeowo Ex Officio
  • Engr. Wole Alli Ex Officio
  • Engr Olusoji Aladesuru Ex Officio

Upcoming Table-tennis tournamentsView tournaments archive →

We constantly engage ourselves in a few engaging and entertaining events and also healthy but highly competitive tournament all year round. With every tournament comes a winner. We are proud to showcase a list of tournament winners over the years.