6 Ikoyi club 1938 road,
P.O. Box 239 Ikoyi, Lagos


info@ikoyiclub1938.net, membershipservices
@ikoyiclub1938.net, gm@ikoyiclub1938.net, ops@ikoyiclub1938.net
(01) 7737457

Come experience our world

Ikoyi Club 1938 is a private member family Club and it occupies an enviable area of approximately 456 acres of land and provides first class facilities for about 10, 000 members. On September 29, 1938, Ikoyi Club 1938 officially came into being through the merger of the European Club and Lagos Golf Club.

Squash section

On behalf of the members of committee, I welcome you to the Squash Section of Ikoyi Club 1938, where the "fittest" members of the Club congregate

Bringing out the best in each other

Squash is an indoor game played by two people in a rectangular court which means you can play at any time of the day or night irrespective of the weather

History of squash Section

Before 1977, Squash was in Other Sports, it became Squash Section in 1977, with four courts. The first Chairman of the Section was Dr. Tony Madedor in 1977.

The new Squash complex was contracted out in 1988 by Mr. Bayo Adenubi the then Chairman of the Section and the building was commissioned in 1990 by Mr. Akin Aganga Williams, by then the Squash courts was increased to Nine courts.

There are seven (7) Squash Racket courts all of which are air-conditioned. There is a gallery viewing area. The section has a standard gym and kitchen that serves Nigerian dishes.

In 1992 Gym was added by Mr. Mike Agboola Committee and completed in 1994 by Dr. Olukayode Roberts Committee.

The first Nigeria member to win Squash championship in the Club was Mr. M.A.O Sofoluwe in 1967. Dr. Olukayode Roberts former Chairman of the Section was the first Nigeria to win British open veteran category in 1997

Ikoyi Club 1938 Squash Section was the first Club in Nigeria to have two qualified Squash professionals their names are: Mr. T. Mgbechi in 1975 and Mr. Sam Omonroseghe in 1978.

It is important to stress the fact that Squash game in Nigeria was born from Ikoyi Club 1938, the first Squash Chairman of Lagos State Association was Mr. Tayo Sofoluwe and the first coach was Mr. Sam Omonroseghe. Also, Mr. Tayo Sofoluwe was the first Chairman Squash Federation of Nigeria. Mr. Sofoluwe is a Life member of Ikoyi Club 1938 Squash Section.


  1. 1977 – 1979 Dr. Tony Madedor
  2. 1980 – 1982 Mr. Yinka Ajitena
  3. 1983 – 1984 Mr. Tunji Olutayo
  4. 1984 – 1986 Mr. Pat Ani
  5. 1987 – 1988 Mr. Bayo Adenubi
  6. 1989 – 1990 Mr. Akin Aganga Williams
  7. 1991 – 1992 Mr. Mike Agboola
  8. 1993 -1994 Dr. Olukayode Roberts
  9. 1994 – 1995 Mr. Seun Oyefeso
  10. 1996 – 1997 Mr. Oladapo Abe
  11. 1997 – 1998 Mr. Victor Akinbayo
  12. 1999 – 2001 Mr. Jackson Ebasa
  13. 2001 – 2003 Mr. Okey Nnaobi
  14. 2003 – 2004 Mr. Oluremi Olukoya
  15. 2005 – 2007 Dr. Olufemi Onanuga
  16. 2007 – 2009 Mr. A.O Awosika
  17. 2009 – 2011 Mr. Austin Jo – Madugu
  18. 2011 – 2013 Mr. Akinsanya Akindele
  19. 2013 – 2015 Mr. Tokunbo Ogundipe
  20. 2015 – 2017 Mr. Akin Akintola
  21. 2017 – 2019 Mr Ifeanyi Maduka
  22. 2019 – 2021 Dr. Olumide Sojinrin
  23. 2021 -2023 Mr. Olaomoju Lawal
  24. 2023            Mr. Akinsope Adedoyin Roberts


The official opening hour of the Section is 8:00am – 11:00pm.
The Section has a well-equipped gym with state of the art equipment which opens 8:00am to 9:00pm Monday – Friday. On Saturday 8:00am – 4:00pm and Sunday 12:00pm – 6:00pm.
The kitchen of the Section opens 1:00pm – 9:00pm Monday – Friday.

The bar of the Section is located at the first floor which will be under renovation for six weeks any moment from now and the bar opens 8:00am – 11:00pm daily

The Section has six international Squash courts and a double Squash court which is under construction.

We have professional coaches and they are available every day. Their names are:

  1. Coach Sam Omoronseghe
  2. Coach Taiwo Sodiq
  3. Coach Demola Daini
  4. Coach Yemisi Olatunji
  5. Coach Yinka Durosinlorun
  6. Coach Taiwo Kolawole
  7. Coach Deji Sanya


The Gym Instructors are:

  1. Mr. Dapo Solatan
  2. Mr. Aregbesola Balogun
  3. Mr. Kenneth Chude Ugwu

The Section has designed free lesson days for the upcoming Squash players i.e Mondays and Thursdays between the hour of 5:00pm – 6;00pm.

Meet our executives

  • Akinsope Roberts Chairman
  • Oluwole sojinrin Games Captain
  • Taiwo Fanimokun Secretary
  • Titilola Aworanti-Ekugo Assistant Games Captain
  • Entertainment Officer
  • House and Facility Officer
  • Treasurer

Upcoming Squash tournamentsView tournaments archive →

We constantly engage ourselves in a few engaging and entertaining events and also healthy but highly competitive tournament all year round. With every tournament comes a winner. We are proud to showcase a list of tournament winners over the years.